Jan 29, 2024 Contact Kylie Mason Phone (850) 245-0150



## Florida Attorney General's Office News Release

## Attorney General Moody Supports Texas Border Defense Barriers



TALLAHASSEE, Fla.—Attorney General Ashley Moody is supporting Texas and sending a strong message to the federal government to enforce public safety immigration law or let states defend their own borders. Since President Biden took office, more than six million illegal aliens have crossed the southern border—roughly the population of Iowa and Utah combined. But even worse than turning a blind eye to the unprecedented invasion at the southern border, including record illegal immigration, a flood of deadly drugs, an influx of human trafficking, and increased encounters with members of the terror watchlist—the Biden Administration has actively made the crisis worse. In just one month, Border Patrol agents acting on the Biden administration's orders cut Texas's border defense wires more than 20 times. In one case, Border Patrol even used a forklift to raise the wire and usher in more than 300 illegal aliens.

Since the Biden Administration has failed to do its job and secure the border, states have stepped up to protect their citizens. A federal district court found that Texas's border defense wires reduced illegal border crossings by more than two-thirds. Those barriers protect not just Texans from millions of illegal border crossings, but Floridians and the rest of the nation.

Attorney General Ashley Moody said, "Texas is fighting for the sovereignty of their state and this nation. I, along with 25 other state attorneys general, am sending a message to Biden and

Mayorkas: if you cannot bring yourselves to enforce the law, get out of the way so the states can."

Attorney General Moody and a coalition of 26 other states demand that the Biden administration either enforce the laws that secure the southern border or allow states like Texas to stop the invasion themselves.

Attorney General Moody is joined by the attorney general of the following states in signing the letter: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming. The Arizona State Legislature also joined the letter.

Read the full letter here.

###