Apr 18, 2024 **Contact** Kylie Mason **Phone** (850) 245-0150



Attorney General Ashley Moody News Release

Attorney General Moody Takes Multistate Legal Action to Block Radical Green New Deal Emissions Rule



TALLAHASSEE, Fla.—Attorney General Ashley Moody is standing up for Americans who drive gas and diesel-powered trucks and cars against the Biden Administration's electric vehicle mandate. Attorney General Moody, along with a multistate coalition filed a lawsuit today to block a new Environmental Protection Agency emissions rule. The new rule imposes unworkable emissions standards on passenger cars, light-duty trucks and medium-duty vehicles. The EPA is attempting to use the weight of the federal government and force manufacturers to produce more EVs so the vehicles account for nearly 70% of car sales in less than a decade. Last year, American EV made up only 8.4% of sales.

Attorney General Ashley Moody said, "Biden's EPA continues to push radical Green New Deal policies at a time when the infrastructure is not in place and Americans are struggling economically due to Biden-created inflation. Despite these concerns, Biden is trying to force a more than 60% increase in EV car sales over the next decade. We continue to fight Biden's short-sighted and out-of-touch policies—taking legal action today to protect Americans from these outrageous emissions standards."

The forced transition to EVs would all but devastate the American economy, threatening jobs, raising prices and undermining the reliability of the electric grid.

A Gallup <u>poll</u> released just this month showed fewer Americans said they would consider buying an EV, with almost half (48%) saying they would not purchase one.

Amid shrinking consumer demand, <u>Ford Motor Company</u> lost about \$4.7 billion on EVs last year and projects even worse losses this year.

Attorney General Moody, along with the attorney general of the following states filed the lawsuit: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming.

Read the full lawsuit here.

###