Attorney General Pam Bondi News Release

August 30, 2012
Contact: Whitney Ray
Phone: (850) 245-0150

Attorney General Pam Bondi Reaches Landmark $181 Million Multistate Settlement with Janssen Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. –Attorney General Pam Bondi announced today that she and 36 other attorneys general have reached a record settlement totaling more than $181 million with Janssen Pharmaceuticals, Inc. This settlement, which follows an investigation and settlement negotiations led by Florida, is the largest multistate consumer protection settlement between state attorneys general and a pharmaceutical company. The agreement resolves allegations that Janssen used deceptive and unfair trade practices to market antipsychotic drugs Risperdal, Risperdal Consta, Risperdal M-Tab and Invega for off-label uses. Federal Law prohibits pharmaceutical manufacturers from promoting their products for off-label uses, although physicians may prescribe drugs for those uses. As a result of the settlement, Florida will receive more than $11 million which will go to future enforcement and reimbursement in attorneys’ fees and costs.

“This landmark settlement holds Janssen accountable for its actions and sends a message to all pharmaceutical companies that these practices will not be tolerated,” stated Attorney General Pam Bondi.

The complaint filed with today’s settlement alleges that Janssen promoted Risperdal for off-label uses to physicians who treated patients with Alzheimer’s disease, dementia, depression, and anxiety. These uses were not FDA-approved.

In the settlement, Janssen agreed to change how it promotes and markets its atypical antipsychotics and to refrain from any false, misleading or deceptive promotion of the drugs. Additionally, for a five-year period, Janssen has agreed to additional safeguards including:
Florida was joined in the settlement by the following states: Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and the District of Columbia.

A copy of the complaint can be found here:$file/8.29.12JanssenComplaint.pdf