Attorney General Pam Bondi News Release
February 2, 2011
Contact: Whitney Ray
Phone: (850) 245-0150
en Español Print Icon Print Version

Florida Attorney General Names Osceola County Department of Corrections Officer the 2010 Law Enforcement Officer of the Year

TALLAHASSEE, FL - Attorney General Pam Bondi today named Osceola County Department of Corrections Officer Reeshemah Taylor as the recipient of the Attorney General's Law Enforcement Officer of the Year award for 2010. Officer Taylor was joined by ten fellow officers from around the state at a ceremony recognizing them for their dedication to law enforcement and their protection of the public.

“Our state is lucky to have some of the best law enforcement officers in the nation,” Attorney General Bondi said at the ceremony honoring the nominees. “Every day these officers and their families sacrifice in order to protect and serve their communities. I am honored to be able to show my appreciation for their incredible contribution to our society.”

An eight-year veteran with the Osceola County Corrections Department, Officer Reeshemah Taylor upholds and exemplifies the highest traditions of the law enforcement community and her department. On June 22, 2009, while working in the Osceola County Corrections Medical Unit, Officer Taylor attempted to locate a fellow officer who failed to respond to numerous calls from the Communications section.

Officer Taylor located the missing officer along with an inmate who had pulled a gun on him while arriving back at his cell after completing a telephone call. Officer Taylor observed that the career criminal was dressed in a correctional officer’s uniform and was holding a 9mm handgun to the officer’s head.

Officer Taylor immediately entered the cell to assist her fellow officer despite the clear and present danger. The inmate then turned and placed the handgun to Officer Taylor’s forehead. Officer Taylor then grabbed the inmate’s hand and the gun in order to divert it from her head. She overpowered the inmate and radioed for backup while restraining him.

For her heroic actions in the face of a life-threatening circumstance, as well as her commitment to save a fellow officer’s life, Officer Taylor is the well-deserved recipient of the Attorney General’s award.

Each nominee for the Attorney General's award had previously been recognized as an “Officer of the Year” by a Florida law enforcement agency or organization that sponsors such a statewide award. Officer Taylor was nominated by virtue of her selection by the Fraternal Order of Police, Florida Lodge. A selection committee appointed by the Attorney General considered the distinguished group of nominees from state agencies and organizations including the Florida Sheriff's Association, the Florida Police Chiefs Association, the State Law Enforcement Chiefs Association, the Florida Gang Investigators Association and the Florida Retail Federation.

Taylor is the eighth recipient of the Attorney General's annual award. Last year’s recipient was Detective Jared Reston, of the Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office. The 2008 recipient was Lieutenant Michael Howell, of the Walton County Sheriff's Office. The 2007 recipient was Florida Department of Law Enforcement Special Agent Tammy Roane, and the 2006 recipient was Detective Sergeant Contento of the Tampa Police Department. In 2005, the recipient was Detective Kevin Kuschel of the Palm Beach County School District Police Department. The recipient in 2004 was Tallahassee Police Officer Chuck Perry, and Marion County Deputy Sheriff Mike Rolls was honored as the first recipient of the award in 2003.

Additional 2010 Award Nominees:

Officer W. Garrett Creamer, Department of Environmental Protection, Panama City
Detective Steve Grenier, Department of Financial Services, West Palm Beach
Deputy Michael Kleinfelt, Orange County Sheriff's Office, Orlando
Trooper Danyen Komorek, Florida Highway Patrol, Jacksonville
Officer Jorge Martinez, Titusville Police Department, Titusville
Officer Elpidio "Al" Padilla, Department of Transportation, Miami
Officer Charles Townsend, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services,
White Springs
Detective John Tritt, Orlando Police Department, Orlando
Officer Rich Wilcox, Florida Wildlife Commission, Ocala
Special Agent Mark Willis, Florida Department of Law Enforcement, Ft. Myers

A list of the nominees accomplishments is located here.