Attorney General Pam Bondi News Release
May 9, 2017
Contact: Whitney Ray
Phone: (850) 245-0150

Print Icon Print Version

Commission Announces Finalists for the 2017 Florida Women’s Hall of Fame

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.—The Florida Commission on the Status of Women have announced the top 10 finalists for the 2017 Florida Women’s Hall of Fame. This year marks the 35th year of the Florida Women’s Hall of Fame. Governor Rick Scott will soon select up to three finalists for the 2017 induction into the Hall of Fame, which recognizes and honors women who have made significant contributions to the improvement of life for women and for all Floridians. This year’s inductees will be honored at a ceremony on Sept. 27, 2017 in Orlando.

The following nominees are the top 10 finalist that exemplify the great diversity of women’s contributions to Florida:

    Mary Lou Baker, formerly of Clearwater;
    Barbara Baer Capitman, formerly of Miami Beach;
    Kathleen “Scotty” Robertson Culp, formerly of Satellite Beach;
    Byrd Spilman Dewey, formerly of Boynton Beach;
    Clara Floyd Gehan, formerly of Gainesville;
    Dr. Ruth Greenfield of Miami;
    Pam Iorio, Tampa;
    Lee Bird Leavengood, Tampa;
    Barbara Louise Mainster, Immokalee; and
    Katherine Fernandez Rundle, Miami.

“The Florida Commission on the Status of Women in the true spirit of celebration is proud to honor these outstanding women who have had such a meaningful impact on our state and its history,” said Commission Chair Patti W. Hamilton.

The Florida Commission on the Status of Women is a nonpartisan board, statutorily created consisting of 22 appointed members, administratively housed in the Florida Attorney General’s Office. The work of the commission is focused on raising awareness and celebrating the contributions of Floridians in all 67 counties, along with providing a collaborative platform for those seeking information on issues that affect women, girls and their families in Florida. Additional information about the Commission is available at