Attorney General Pam Bondi News Release
February 11, 2016
Contact: Whitney Ray
Phone: (850) 245-0150
en Español Print Icon Print Version

Attorney General Bondi Announces the 2015 Law Enforcement Officer of the Year

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.—Attorney General Pam Bondi today named Taylor County Sheriff’s Office Deputy Robert Lundy the Attorney General’s 2015 Law Enforcement Officer of the Year. Attorney General Bondi and Governor Rick Scott recognized Deputy Lundy and seven other officers from across the state for their dedication to protecting Floridians.

Deputy Robert Lundy’s brave actions saved lives, and I am honored to name him our 2015 Law Enforcement Officer of the Year,” said Attorney General Bondi. “Each of this year’s nominees exhibited courage and skill in protecting the citizens of this great state, and I am forever thankful for these brave men and women and all of Florida’s great law enforcement officers.”

On Feb. 5, 2014, while a dealership serviced Deputy Lundy’s county vehicle, a disgruntled employee crashed his car into the building and opened fire on the individuals inside. Deputy Lundy was shot but with little hesitation returned gunfire, wounding the assailant and ending the assault. Deputy Lundy underwent surgery for a stomach wound and eye trauma, spent several weeks in a coma and continues to face a long recovery as a result of this incident.

When faced with a life threatening decision, Deputy Lundy's bravery and quick actions saved the lives of two injured employees and potentially everyone in the dealership at the time of the shooting.

Each of today’s honorees had been previously selected as the Officer of the Year by a Florida law enforcement agency or association. The Florida Sheriff’s Association and the Florida State Fraternal Order of Police nominated Deputy Lundy. A selection committee appointed by Attorney General Bondi considered the distinguished group of nominees from state agencies and organizations.

The following law enforcement officers are the additional nominees:

    Detective Scott Angulo, Tallahassee Police Department;
    Detective Jason Friday, Sarasota County Sheriff’s Office;
    Special Agent Dennis Haley, Florida Department of Law Enforcement;
    Detective Tom Hall, Florida Department of Financial Services: Florida State Fire Marshall’s Office;
    Corporal Martin Hernandez, Florida Highway Patrol;
    Lieutenant Dustin Lightsey, Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission; and
    Trooper Bradford Wagner, Florida Highway Patrol.

For more information on the nominees’ accomplishments, click here.