Attorney General Pam Bondi News Release
April 25, 2011
Contact: Whitney Ray
Phone: (850) 245-0150
en Español Print Icon Print Version

Attorney General Bondi Collaborates with Florida’s Law Enforcement Community to Identify Funding for Prescription Drug Monitoring Program

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.—Today, Attorney General Pam Bondi announced that Florida’s law enforcement community has volunteered to contribute portions of their forfeiture funds to subsidize the prescription drug monitoring program (PDMP). She reached out to law enforcement after concerns were raised about language in HB 7095, "pill mill" legislation being considered by the Florida Legislature, which prohibits pharmaceutical companies from funding the PDMP.

Attorney General Bondi collaborated with law enforcement agencies throughout Florida to identify funding sources for the PDMP, and 18 police chiefs and 11 sheriffs have offered money from their forfeiture funds to support the operational costs of the PDMP. Forfeiture funds come from seizures of criminals’ assets and money.

“I am grateful to Florida’s police chiefs and sheriffs who have committed to providing funding for this essential monitoring program,” said Attorney General Bondi. “The law enforcement community’s support of this program demonstrates their commitment to combating the prescription drug abuse problem in our state, and this funding comes at no cost to Florida’s taxpayers.”

“Utilizing forfeited assets is a great tool for law enforcement,” Broward County Sheriff Al Lamberti said. “It’s using the ill-gotten gains of bad guys to help us catch more bad guys.”

“I am proud to provide support to the prescription drug monitoring program, which will assist police officers and law enforcement throughout the state in identifying and arresting criminals,” stated Daytona Beach Shores Police Chief Stephan Dembinsky.

The law enforcement officers who have committed to donating forfeiture funds are listed below.


• Sheriff Mike Scott – Lee County

• Sheriff Bradshaw – Palm Beach County

• Sheriff Bill Cameron – Charlotte County

• Sheriff Sadie Darnell – Alachua County

• Sheriff Brad Steube – Manatee County

• Sheriff Wendell Hall – Santa Rosa County

• Sheriff Al Lamberti – Broward County

• Sheriff Thomas Knight – Sarasota County

• Sheriff Frank McKeithen – Bay County

• Sheriff JR Jack Parker – Brevard County

Sheriff Bob Hansell, Osceola County

Sheriff Joey Dobson, Baker County Sheriff's Office

Sheriff Ben Johnson, Volusia County Sheriff's Office

• Director James K. Loftus – Miami Dade Police Department

Police Chiefs:

• Chief Dave Romine – St. Petersburg Beach

• Chief Kevin Brunelle – Winter Springs

• Chief Doug Baker – Fort Myers

• Chief Steve Bracknell – Lake Mary

• Chief Jerry Monahan – Port Orange

• Chief Troy Hickson – Longwood

• Chief J. Michelle Morris – Sebastian

• Chief Jeffrey Chudnow – Oviedo

• Chief Brett Railey – Winter Park

• Chief William Ridgway – DeLand

• Chief Frank Kitzerow – Jupiter

• Chief Stephan Dembinsky – Daytona Beach Shores

• Chief Lionel Cote – Satellite Beach

• Chief Kenneth Albano – Temple Terrace

• Chief Dennis Weiner – Coral Gables

• Chief Jeanette Said Jinete – Medley

• Chief Charles Harmon – St. Petersburg

• Chief Donald Lee – Key West